A Million Aunties

Author(s): Alecia McKenzie

General Fiction | Coming Soon

'An elegantly written and emotionally engrossing work of fiction.' Bernardine Evaristo, Booker Prize-winning author of Girl, Woman, Other

An emotional, tender and funny novel from award-winning author Alecia McKenzie that asks, what does family mean to you?

Seeking solitude after a personal tragedy upends his world, artist Chris travels to his mother's homeland, Jamaica, in a bid to find peace. He expects to spend his time painting in solitude, coming to terms with his loss and the fractured relationship with his father. Instead, he discovers a new extended and complicated 'family' with their own startling stories. Can they help him to become whole again?

Told from different points of view, this is an utterly compelling and deeply relatable novel from the winner of two Commonwealth literary prizes. Fans of Girl, Woman, Other and The Vanishing Half will love this book about friendship, community, chosen family, and healing after trauma.

What readers are saying about A Million Aunties:

'Have you ever not wanted a book to end? Were disappointed that the characters are gone from your life?... Makes you yearn for more.' New York Journal of Books

'An absolute delight!... Trust me - if you enjoy character-driven, multicultural fiction, you're going to want to get your hands on this book ASAP.' Reader review

'Emotional, enthralling and heartfelt... A story of loss and the infinite types of love."
Woman's World

'Pulls you in and holds you right till the end. It's strongly written with a delicate touch.' New West Indian Guide

'Tender... An emotionally resonant ode to adopted families and community resilience.' New York Times Book Review, Editors' Choice

'This big-hearted narrative of love, loss and family is handled with grace and beauty.' Publishers Weekly

'A beautiful book for anyone who knows there is more to family than blood relations.' Book Culture

March 2022

$32.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0
On Order:
3

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780349702568
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : Sphere
  • : 0.3
  • : February 2022
  • : March 2022
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 813.6
  • : Paperback
  • : Alecia McKenzie