Product detail

Kansas in August

Kansas in August

Author: Patrick Gale
$22.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

November 2018

Description

Patrick Gale's KANSAS IN AUGUST is a witty, warm novel of childhood and abandonment for readers of Armistead Maupin and Edmund White 'Modern, excellent and sympathetic' Stephen Fry

Musical-obsessed Hilary Metcalfe, abandoned by his lover Rufus on his birthday, gets drunk, discovers a baby and brings it home to his flat above a corner shop to provide comfort and company. Rufus, meanwhile, allows himself to be seduced by a frivolous young woman, who is actually Hilary's professional, high-powered sister, romancing under a pseudonym to escape the reality of her own loneliness.


In this witty, bawdy slice of sex and lies, the trio will find themselves drawn together ever more tightly by the lures of hedonism, self-delusion and the inescapable desire to be needed.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781472255563
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Tinder Press
  • : October 2018
  • : ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.9'units:- Centimeters
  • : November 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : Patrick Gale
  • : 192
  • : 823.9/14